Scholarships For Scholars, Inc History

Scholarships for Scholars is unique. The organization receives its operating and scholarship funding from escheat funds – monies left in an estate without any heirs. This unique approach to awarding college scholarships was the vision of Dr. Edward J. Anderson, superintendent of the Anne Arundel County Public Schools from 1968 to 1984. Anderson had heard that the governor of Massachusetts was raising and distributing $1,000,000 in scholarship money. He wanted to see a similar program established to benefit the students of Anne Arundel County. In 1974, the Maryland State Legislature approved a bill that awarded proceeds from an estate without heirs to that County’s Board of Education, which was signed by Governor Marvin Mandel.

With the support of then Anne Arundel County Coordinator of Guidance and Counseling, Clarence (Curley) Johnson, Dr. Anderson’s vision became reality when Scholarships for Scholars was officially sanctioned on January 31, 1984.

The foundation was established as a non-profit organization managed by a Board of Trustees drawn from leading members of the local community. Founding members of the Scholarships for Scholars Board of Trustees included Carroll Hynson, Jr., Ronald McGuirk, James Olfson, Chris Poindexter and Suzanne Sellman. Today, the Scholarships for Scholars Board of Trustees is made of up of leading Anne Arundel County business, civic and educational leaders.